Off The Grid

Been wondering about my environment – am I naive to think that what we do as consumers simply perpetuates negative impacts – that understanding of our role in the schema of want creates endless cycles of imbalance spinning off to catastrophe. Buy this, buy that, shop for the sake of shopping; I posses way too much – of the wrong things. The plethora of goods to satisfy my cravings hasn’t earned me the right to want. How do I unwrap the routine and become at once accountable and responsible, and is that all it takes. Is the end to gluttony fulfilling enough or does it take joining in the cause –  measuring my response with others to minimize my footprint through action – living for change and not merely resilience.  How far can you get back down the treadmill, use less, give up dependence, make change and come to terms with the world we are moving towards unabated. What promises can I keep – self awareness is one thing but action is completely different. Where do I place myself in my environment! 

Leave a Reply

